Ending Timow’s Turf

Dear readers:

I can’t sleep.

Both now and 5 years ago. In 2011, I can’t sleep because of the deceptive 15-minute YouTube video with their professional editing but never-ending nauseating attacks that favors their agenda and motive. Today, it’s because of the Supreme Court’s decision in favor of burying Marcos in the Libingan ng mga Bayani.

Because of that, I decided to post a new article — a personal one.

Based on statistics, my Turf barely made comment and viewership involvement throughout 2016 . I admit, it’s because of the treatise-like treatment. I hope you’ll give me some after reading this.

I’m supposed to schedule this 144th post to commemorate the 7th anniversary of the Maguindanao massacre. It was supposed be about the fake news on social media and it’s response. It would’ve been indeed a timely article and why it’s no better than what happened back then.

However, the instinct of urgency triggered me to do away with it but I will share my sentiments of what would’ve been my upcoming post in one powerful sentence:

The difference between then and now is that the culture of impunity is no longer on the hands of a political dynasty’s 3Gs (goons, guns and gold) but on millions online with followers, keyboards and coins.

The quote really fits the situation just now. It seems the misguided mob is triumphant and there’s nothing else we can do as they are always right and we’re always wrong. They have sold their own dignified and respectful soul that was formed for many years of formal schooling to the devil. Soon, they will feel their remorse but they can’t recover what they traded.

However, our resistance, no matter how hard we try, is futile with their sprouting legions. If it’s regression analysis, it’s either exponential, linear or logarithmic but never quadratic.

Because of the recent developments yesterday, which is beyond my control and deemed irreversible, I formally tendered my resignation letter to Gab Hernandez and to the Pinoy Nostalgia admins. In addition, I am currently considering my resignation to Gregory Maximinian on PHTV Group and hopefully, to Jayson Bustamante — despite the political differences — on the Radio counterpart.

My loss there will be yours as well, except the fanatics, bashers and bigots.

What will my Turf do now?

I still have some writing commitments for Christmas and the New Year in their own separate articles. Though in the middle of 2017, I will formally end it and keep it as a repository of future bloggers.

Although, I am ready to cease publishing earlier and I am ready to die if any of the content is “subversive” but I’ll dedicate my blood for the good of the sane, objective and dignified people.

My dear Turfers, I’m sorry to cause harm and I can’t continue longer inasmuch my true colors shine more in an even darker chapter that is more in store.

To Ralph Domingo, I am sorry to hear this bad news from me after 3 years of friendly discussion.

To Kevin Trinidad, even though Gregory criticized you, I am sorry.

To the names etched in the Wall of Remembrance in Bantayog ng mga Bayani, I failed you.

To the statues in Mendiola and Ayala, I am sorry for your sacrifices are now meaningless.

To the graves of Letty Jimenez-Magsanoc, Betty Go Belmonte, Chino Roces, June Keithley, et al., we are sorry for the rolling in on your graves.

To the landmarks who dedicate their lives against tyranny, we’re sorry as your dedication is now all wasted to vanity.

But what can we do now? We never learn and never will anymore. We are doomed to repeat it.

I hope you respect my decision as long as you have such respect to others.

~ Timow P

4 comments

  1. I felt so shocked when I first read this article on the day you posted it. Sayang naman that you chose to end this blog just because of a high court that ruled in favor the family of a former dictator. Anyway, I respect your decision, Timow. But I’ll miss this blog a lot.

    Unfortunately, some of your bashers out there, especially those who accused you for being a “Yellowtard,” like Dwayne, will obviously rejoice over this issue. Such a shame.

    1. It was actually my breaking point and for me, the domino effect on this new administration is just getting started and we can’t avert it back where it rightfully belongs.

      Fanaticism is to be blamed for the mess and our children will pay the price for it when they learn the other side of history and embrace it unconditionally at the expense of us and our ancestors.

      Call it a defeatist move but all things will come to an end.

      Thank you for your patronage and understanding, Jake. Please keep the flame alive when I leave soon.

Leave a Reply

